UAHS History

The University of Arizona Health Sciences at the University of Arizona is a network of health-related organizations that had its beginnings on the UA campus in Tucson more than 40 years ago. Arizona’s only academic health center, UAHS is based on the campus of the University of Arizona in Tucson and maintains a growing presence on the Phoenix Biomedical Campus in downtown Phoenix. From these vantage points, UAHS reaches across the state of Arizona and well beyond its borders to provide healthcare education, research, patient care and service for Arizonans and their neighbors today and in the future.

  • In 2015, the University of Arizona and Banner Health finalized the terms of a 30-year academic affiliation agreement that provides significant capital and investment resources for improvements to clinical facilities, equipment and clinical, clinical research and education programs. The closure of this agreement launched Banner – University Medicine. It includes three academic medical centers, a physician group serving as faculty in the academic medical centers and at the University of Arizona Colleges of Medicine in Tucson and Phoenix.
  • University of Arizona-Banner Health Affiliation, Definition of Terms signed June 26, 2014
  • In July 2010, the integration of UMC, UPH and their clinical affiliates resulted in the umbrella organization, The University of Arizona Health Network.
  • In 2004, University Physicians, Inc., (now The University of Arizona Physicians) assumed management of Kino Community Hospital in Tucson, which was named University Physicians Hospital (UPH Hospital). Known today as The University of Arizona Medical Center – South Campus, the hospital is a secondary teaching hospital for the UA College of Medicine.
  • The UA Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health, established in 2000, became the fourth of the health-sciences colleges on the UAHS campus in Tucson.
  • In 1992, the UAHS Phoenix Campus was established to meet the needs of UA medical students in Maricopa County and to provide education and community outreach to the surrounding region. UA pharmacy and doctoral students in nursing also study in the Phoenix area.
  • In 1967, the Basic Sciences Building of the fledgling UA College of Medicine opened its doors to the first class of UA medical students. Four years later, University Hospital was completed as the primary teaching hospital for the College. In 1971, these two entities were known as Arizona Medical Center. (University Hospital subsequently became University Medical Center and now is The University of Arizona Medical Center – University Campus.)  Within a few years, the long-established UA Colleges of Nursing and Pharmacy, which opened in the UA College of Liberal Arts, constructed new buildings and joined the hospital and medical college on the budding UAHS campus.