UA College of Nursing to Honor Eileen T. Breslin as Alumnus of the Year

Nov 7, 2013

Eileen T. Breslin, PhD, RN, FAANEileen T. Breslin, PhD, RN, FAAN, professor and dean of the School of Nursing at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, has been selected as Alumnus of the Year for the University of Arizona College of Nursing. Dr. Breslin will be honored during the Alumni Breakfast and Awards Ceremony on Nov. 9, one of several events celebrating Homecoming weekend.

“Throughout her nursing career, Dr. Breslin has demonstrated a passion for advancing public health and a commitment to both nursing practice and nursing education,” said Joan Shaver, PhD, RN, FAAN, professor and dean of the UA College of Nursing. “Over the course of her 20-year career in higher education and as a health-care practitioner specializing in violence, addiction and women’s health, Dr. Breslin’s accomplishments have brought her noteworthy credit and fuel our pride in her accomplishments.”

Dr. Breslin received her Master of Science specializing in maternal-newborn nursing from the UA. Over the course of her distinguished academic career, she has influenced the infusion of contemporary knowledge into nursing curricula and degree offerings, and worked to address the national nursing shortage and improve the quality of professional nursing care through evidence-based practice.

“I am truly humbled and honored by this recognition,” said Dr. Breslin. “There are so many exceptional alumni making a difference in our profession daily.”

For many years, Dr. Breslin has served on the board of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN), the national voice for university and four-year college education programs in nursing. AACN represents more than 690 member schools at public and private institutions. Dr. Breslin was voted president-elect of AACN in 2012.

Dr. Breslin’s commitment to professional service is evidenced by numerous awards and recognition. She was inducted as a fellow into both the American Academy of Nursing (2009) and the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (2003), and recognized as a Distinguished Practitioner in Nursing by the National Academies of Practice (2000).

Dr. Breslin was also the first non-Hispanic nurse to receive the National Association of Hispanic Nurses Presidential Award (2010) – their highest honor – in recognition of her advocacy for the Hispanic community and commitment to making nursing careers more accessible to Hispanics.

“Over the course of her career, Dr. Breslin has exemplified the mission of the UA College of Nursing,” said Dean Shaver. “To envision, engage and innovate nursing and health-care learning, discoveries and clinical practice models.”


Original Story Link: