Dr. Neumayer Elected Chair of Board of Regents of American College of Surgeons

Jan 23, 2018

Leigh A. Neumayer, MD, MS, FACS, interim senior vice president for health sciences at the University of Arizona, was elected chair of the Board of Regents of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) during its recent annual clinical congress, in San Diego. The American College of Surgeons (ACS) is a scientific and educational association of surgeons founded in 1913 to improve the quality of care for the surgical patient by setting high standards for surgical education and practice. 

In addition to her interim leadership role for health sciences, Dr. Neumayer is a professor and chair in the UA Department of Surgery and the Margaret and Fenton Maynard Endowed Chair in Breast Cancer Research at the UA College of Medicine – Tucson. Dr. Neumayer’s recent work is focused on the diagnosis and treatment of breast cancer through innovative technology and clinical trials.

In her role as chair of the American College of Surgeons Board of Regents, Dr. Neumayer will work closely with the ACS executive director and chair the Regents’ finance and executive committees. The college’s 24-member Board of Regents formulates policy and is responsible for managing college affairs. The board members' diversity and variety of experience and interests enable the Regents to represent views related to myriad issues in contemporary surgery.

A fellow of the American College of Surgeons (FACS) since 1994 and a member of the Board of Regents since 2009, Dr. Neumayer has served many roles within the organization. She was chair of the Committee on Medical Student Education (2001-2003), vice chair of the Surgical Research Committee (2015-2016), a governor for the ACS Utah Chapter (2002-2008), and vice chair of the Board of Regents (2016-2017). Dr. Neumayer also was vice chair of the Nominating Committee of the Board of Governors (2004-2006), and a Board of Governors Executive Committee member (2008-2011).

Nationally, Dr. Neumayer has served on the board of directors of the American Board of Surgery (2005-2011) and as president of the Association of Women Surgeons (1997-1998), the Association for Surgical Education (2001-2002), and the Association of Veterans Administration Surgeons (2002-2003). Currently, she serves on the editorial boards for the Journal of the American College of Surgeons, and Annals of Surgery.

Original Story Link: